Year 1 Spelling

26 November 2010

Posted on Friday 26 November 2010 by

This week we are learning everyday words.

These will be tested on Friday 03 December.

come

said

have

was

my

you

this

me

19 November 2010

Posted on Friday 19 November 2010 by

This week’s spellings are linked to phonemes we are learning in class.

Mrs. Weekes

Mrs. Strange

LO: Words with  ‘oy’ / ‘oi’

LO: Words with ‘ay’

  • joy
  • boy
  • Roy
  • toy
  • join
  • coin
  • soil
  • oil


  • play
  • say
  • may
  • clay
  • pay
  • tray
  • day
  • stay

These will be tested on Friday 27 November.

12 November 2010

Posted on Saturday 13 November 2010 by

This week’s spellings are linked to phonemes we are learning in class.

These will be tested on Friday 19 November.

Mrs. Weekes

Mrs. Strange

LO: Words that end in ‘y’.

LO: Words with ‘ee’.

  • cry
  • fly
  • by
  • dry
  • sky
  • try
  • my
  • fry


  • see
  • feel
  • peel
  • been
  • meet
  • deep
  • need
  • bee

05 November 2010

Posted on Saturday 06 November 2010 by

This week’s spellings are linked to phonemes we are learning in class.

Mrs. Weekes

Mrs. Strange

LO: Words with ay / ai

LO: Words with sh / oo

  • play
  • stay
  • pay
  • spray
  • day
  • rain
  • pain
  • main


  • moon
  • soon
  • cool
  • pool
  • ship
  • shut
  • cash
  • mash

These will be tested on Friday 12 November.

1 November 2010

Posted on Sunday 31 October 2010 by

The learning objective for this list is to spell words with the ’th’ sound.

These will be tested on Friday 5 November.

this

then

that

the

thin

thick

bath

path

15 October 2010

Posted on Saturday 16 October 2010 by

The learning objective for this list is to spell words with the ’ch’ sound.

These will be tested on Thursday 21 October, instead of Friday as the children are not in school.

chip
chop
chat
chap
rich
much
cheap
such

08 October 2010

Posted on Saturday 09 October 2010 by

The learning objective for this list is to spell words with the ‘sh’ sound.

These words will be tested on Friday 15 October.

ship
she
shop
shut
sheep
shoe
cash
mash

01 October 2010

Posted on Friday 01 October 2010 by

The Learning Objective for this list is I can spell everyday words.

These words will be tested on Friday 8th October.

are
the
with
at
for
as
my
has

24 September 2010

Posted on Friday 24 September 2010 by

This week’s spellings are high frequency words. They are words we use everyday and are used regularly in writing.

They will be tested on Friday 01 October 2010.

and
said
in
it
on
you
but
up

Good luck!