Year 1 Spelling

14 September 2012

Posted on Thursday 13 September 2012 by

This week we’re once again looking at words we use every day.

These words will be tested on Friday 21 September.

he
she
 I
we
was
me
be
all

07 September 2012

Posted on Sunday 09 September 2012 by

Spelling is an integral part of the writing process. Pupils who spell with ease are able to concentrate on the content of their writing. With this in mind, we carry on with the letters and sounds programme on a daily basis in Year 1.

Spelling lists will be given out on Mondays and will be linked to the sounds being taught that week, or a list of frequently used words. Sometimes the list will link to the class topic.

This week’s list is words the children encountered in Reception and will need in their day to day writing.

and
in
it
on
you
but
up

 

 

 

 

Hint: Practice little and often works best.

06 July 2012

Posted on Saturday 07 July 2012 by

This week’s spellings are all words which have been misspelled in our writing recently. Children will be tested on eight out of the ten words on Friday 13 July.

under
looking
wish
park
birds
liked
grow
girl
boat
with

29 June 2012

Posted on Saturday 30 June 2012 by

This week we are learning to spell words with aw.

These words will be tested on Friday 06 July.

paw
claw
dawn
saw
draw
jigsaw
lawn
sawdust
seesaws
yawn

22 June 2012

Posted on Saturday 23 June 2012 by

This week, our spelling is words we use to join sentences.

Can you think of some more and use them in sentences?  To help your child, it’s a good idea to ask them to write the words in full sentences, practising their handwriting and punctuation at the same time.

These words will be tested on Friday 29 June.

and
but
because
then
after
until

15 June 2012

Posted on Friday 15 June 2012 by

As the statutory phonics screening check will take place next week, there is no spelling homework.

There is no date set for which children will be tested on which day; as always, avoid unnecessary absences.

Thank you.

 

25 May 2012

Posted on Saturday 26 May 2012 by

Our spelling list this week is linked to ‘Money Week’, which takes place next week.

These words will be tested on Friday 01 June.

coin
money
pence
pound
safe
cash
check
lend
pay
cost

18 May 2012

Posted on Saturday 19 May 2012 by

Our spelling list this week looks at words that end in ‘nk‘.

These words will be tested on Friday 25 May 2012.

bank
pink
ink
drink
sink
tank
blank
oink
plank
think

11 May 2012

Posted on Friday 11 May 2012 by

This week, we are looking at a variety of words we need to spell correctly in our writing.

These words will be tested on Friday 18 May.

under
looking
wish
park
birds
liked
grow
girl
boat
lived

04 May 2012

Posted on Friday 04 May 2012 by

This week, we’re learning words with the ir sound. These can be written with the ir or ur grapheme.

These words will be tested on Friday 11 May.

fir
girl
shirt
burn
hurt
turn
church
bird
burst
birthday