Year 1 Spelling

27 January 2012

Posted on Thursday 26 January 2012 by

Like last week, we’re practising words which have split diagraphs.  The last ‘e’ in the words isn’t a sound that we say, but it works with another letter to change, for example, slim (with a short ‘i’ sound) to slime (with a longer ‘i’ sound).

These will be tested on Friday 03 February.

cake
smile
mile
bake
made
pine
slime
lake

 

20 January 2012

Posted on Friday 20 January 2012 by

This week, we’re learning to spell words with the split diagraph ‘i-e‘.  This changes a short ‘i’ sound (as in ‘Tim’ and ‘rid’) to a longer ‘i’ sound (as in ‘time’ and ‘ride’).

time
bike
like
smile
ride
dive
slide
line

These words will be tested on Friday 27 January 2012.

13 January 2012

Posted on Saturday 14 January 2012 by

What is s split digraph?

A split diagraph is an English term under the study of phonetics. It describes a letter that splits during pronunciation. An example is ‘a-e’ which is used in words such as make and take.

Split digraphs are sometimes known as ‘magic e’ words; however, our children will refer to these sounds as split diagraphs.

We’ll be spending the next few weeks learning all about these sounds.

cake
make
late
made
sale
mate
gate
snake

These words will be tested on Friday 20 January.

06 January 2012

Posted on Thursday 05 January 2012 by

To spell words with the ‘ea’ sound.

The words will be tested on Friday 13 January.

 

beads
pea
meat
seal
leaf
beach
tea
cream

09 December 2011

Posted on Sunday 11 December 2011 by Mrs Weekes

To spell words with the “ch” sound.

chip
chop
chat
rich
much
cheep
such
chap

02 December 2012

Posted on Saturday 03 December 2011 by

To spell words with the sh sound.

These words will be tested on Friday 9th December.

ship

she

shop

shut

sheep

shoe

cash

mash

25 November 2011

Posted on Monday 28 November 2011 by

LO. To spell time connectives.

first

last

next

finally

after

then

 These words will be tested on Friday 02 December.

18 November 2011

Posted on Thursday 17 November 2011 by

This week, we’re learning to spell words we can use to join sentences (conjunctions).

These words will be tested on Friday 25 November.

Can you think of  one of your own and use it?

and

but

because

then

after

until

11 November 2011

Posted on Thursday 10 November 2011 by

This week, we’re learning to spell words with the ‘ow’ and ‘ou’ sound.

These words will be tested on Friday 18 November.

cow

out

town

shout

down

loud

04 November 2011

Posted on Thursday 03 November 2011 by

This week, we are learning to spell words with the ‘oi’ and ‘oy’ sound.

These will be tested on Friday 11 November.

boy

Roy

toy

joy

boil

soil

foil

coin