Year 1 Spelling

27 April 2012

Posted on Friday 27 April 2012 by

This week, we’re reinforcing the ‘ow’ sound, which is written using ‘ow‘ or ‘ou‘.  I wonder if Mr Roundtree will be impressed!

These words will be tested on Friday 04 May 2012.

cow
about
now
down
shout
town
cloud
brown

 

 

 

20 April 2012

Posted on Thursday 19 April 2012 by

This week, we’re learning words with the ‘ou’ grapheme which makes an ‘ow’ sound.

These words will be tested on Friday 27 April.

cloud
sound
flour
shout
our
loud
out
found

30 March 2012

Posted on Wednesday 28 March 2012 by Mr Roundtree

It’s the Easter holidays and, in line with our Homework Policy, teachers do not set spellings or homework tasks. Instead, enjoy the sunny weather by getting active: a trip to the park, a game of football, a cycle ride or a long walk!

During the holidays, two of our teachers will visit Italy, one will be in Russia and one will be in…Barry Island!

23 March 2012

Posted on Thursday 22 March 2012 by

We’re learning to spell words with the ‘igh’ letter pattern.

These words will be tested on Friday 30 March.

high
light
night
right
bright
fight

16 March 2012

Posted on Friday 16 March 2012 by

This week’s spellings are words with the ‘ow’ letter pattern. Your child will be tested on Friday 23 March 2012.

cow
how
now
down
brown
clown
town
flower

09 March 2012

Posted on Thursday 08 March 2012 by

This week’s spellings begin and end with ‘th’. Your child will be tested on Friday 16 March 2012.

that
this
the
then
thin
think
bath
path

02 March 2012

Posted on Friday 02 March 2012 by

Spellings this week are all words with the er sound in them.

They will be tested on Friday 09 March 2012.

her
after
water
over
sister
father
mother
river

24 February 2012

Posted on Friday 24 February 2012 by

This is our last week of practising words which have split digraphs.  The last ‘e’ in the words isn’t a sound that we say, but it works with another letter to make the sound; for example, hop (with a short ‘o’ sound) to hope (with a longer ‘oh’ sound).

These will be tested on Friday 02 March.

hole
stone
pole
joke
stole
home
note
hope

It’s the holidays…

Posted on Saturday 11 February 2012 by Mr Roundtree

…so there are no spellings or homework activities.

Instead, enjoy a winter walk, the marvellous Muppets movie, some cool culture at a gallery or museum… Enjoy the half-term break.

03 February 2012

Posted on Thursday 02 February 2012 by

We’re still practising words which have split digraphs. This week, we’re looking at ‘u –e‘, for example, tub (with a short ‘u’ sound) changes to tube (with a longer ‘u’ sound).

cube
huge
tune
use
tube
cute

These will be tested on Friday 10 February.