Year 3 Spelling

28 April 2017

Posted on Sunday 30 April 2017 by

This week’s spelling activity is a crossword with contracted words. Pupils need to think about the apostrophe placement in contracted words, what the apostrophe is replacing and what the original words are. Spellings will be tested on Friday 05 May.

24 March 2017

Posted on Friday 24 March 2017 by

This week’s spellings to learn for a test on Friday 31 March.

Capture

17 March 2017

Posted on Friday 17 March 2017 by

Homophones

This week, the children have been given a spelling activity on a worksheet. This will help them learn their spellings from the list given last week. The spellings will be tested next week on Friday 24 March.

10 March 2017

Posted on Wednesday 08 March 2017 by

The spellings to learn this week are all homophones… words that sound the same but mean different things. As well as the spelling, children need to know the meaning of each word. When I test the children on these spellings, I’ll give them the word in a sentence. For example – There was a pretty, pink flower growing in my garden. 

Capture

03 March 2017

Posted on Friday 03 March 2017 by

This week, the children have been given a spelling activity on a worksheet. This will help them learn their spellings from the list given last week. The spellings will be tested next week on Friday 10 March.

 

24 February 2017

Posted on Friday 24 February 2017 by

This week’s spellings all have the ‘super’ or ‘auto’ prefixes

Children should practise spelling these words in preparation for a test on Friday 10 March.

Capture

03 February 2017

Posted on Sunday 05 February 2017 by

This week’s spellings all have the ‘less’ or ‘ly’ suffixes.

Children should practise spelling these words in preparation for a test on Friday 10 February.

Capture

27 January 2017

Posted on Thursday 26 January 2017 by

This week’s spelling task is to see how many words, from the spellings given last week, you can make using the letters in your homework book.

Cut the letters out (but don’t stick them down) – How many words can you make? This is a great way to practise and learn spellings.

The spellings given last week will be tested on Friday 03 February.

20 January 2017

Posted on Thursday 19 January 2017 by

We are learning the ‘sub’ and ‘tele’ prefixes. Learn the following spellings and their definitions. Can you child use them in a sentence? Learn the following spellings for a test in two weeks – Friday 03 February.

Capture

13 January 2017

Posted on Thursday 12 January 2017 by

Spelling worksheet due in Thursday 19 January 2017.

This week, to help with spelling, children have been given a worksheet concentrating on the ‘ness’ and ‘ful’ suffixes. Your child will have a spelling test on Friday 20 January based on the spellings they learned last week for homework.